And that is that.

The next time we saw each other after that, we actually jumped into each others arms. We were so enamored by each other and it was the kind of love I had always wished for. We never said ‘I love you.’ I think it was more of an unsaid thing. Believing that he wanted to be with me wasn’t the hard part. The hard part was trying to believe it was the right time for us. We had so much fun together yet somehow we tended to be apart more often than we were together. Secretly all girls want good morning and good night texts. We all want to be seen with you and show you off so pictures are a must. Even the little things, just little surprises even make our day. I always wanted a boy to give me his jacket or hoodie like Keegan did that one time. Girls secretly want really long hugs and slow dances in the middle of the street like Noah and Allie in The Notebook. We secretly want you to sing to us even if it is way out of tune. All girls secretly want to know how much you love them and how much you mean to them. Telling a girl she is pretty speaks a thousand more words than the three it takes to say “you are beautiful.”
Prom is at the end of the year meaning summer was coming so soon and I knew what that meant. No time with Keegan. I was leaving for California a week or so after school was out and when I got back there would be a week in between me coming home and him leaving for the rest of the summer.
Don’t you ever say, I just walked away. I will always want you.
The summer was full of highs and lows for the both of us. Life in general is hard but that summer kicked my butt. He was on a roller coaster family ride from all the drama in his family life and I was on a roller coaster because of well, summer. Summer was a mess and sometimes I like to think everything happens for a reason and just leave it at that but then again, breaking up with Keegan was one of the worst nights of my life. I know that break ups are hard. This was very real for me and my whole heart broke not just in two. As soon as I started crying that night in front of him and he started crying in front of me, I knew we were going to get back together and that was that.

Leave a Reply

