Promise me you will be calm.

Maybe love at first sight was just a myth. Maybe when I was in seventh grade I just thought it was cool to tell everyone you loved someone and I was really just lying to myself. Logan and I were close but were we really that close? Maybe I thought that I loved him because he tolerated me or was my secret best friend. I liked the idea of being liked by him even if I was the only one who knew he was the one who liked me. I admit, I had strong feelings for the kid but I think maybe I was just scared. Scared he was going to hurt himself or scared that I would lose him. I know he was always there for me but I couldn’t think of a way to bring myself to be there while he was in the hospital. But then, in the back of my mind, I was thinking, ‘wait, it’s not just anyone. It’s Logan.’ I had to be there for him in the hospital but how was I to do that with my parents in the way. I thought maybe the next day at school he would be there and I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore. Life would just go on. That wasn’t the case though. One week went by, then two, then three, then a month and nothing. I tried to get a hold of him secretly a few times but that wasn’t going to work. When summer finally came around four months later, most of the school had stopped talking about Logan and he was just a distant memory of the kid who just disappeared. I decided to let go of Logan because I figured he had moved on to another school, another life. Summer went on and I still hadn’t heard from Logan. Like I said, Logan will always hold a special place in my heart, but truth be told, I had almost gotten over him. I almost expected him to be at school the next year but I was wrong, that is until the week before winter break. I remember how normal the day was. and how normal my life was. I had a few more friends and I had moved on from Logan. I walked into class and took my seat. Before the bell even rang my teacher had called me over to her desk. She said that the wanted me down in the counselors office. I thought nothing of it since I used to go there all the time to talk about what happened with Logan. When I went in her office and sat down waiting for her to call me in, I noticed there were police outside the building. Since her office sat right at the front of the school, I could practically see into their cars. It wasn’t uncommon to have a resource officer at the school but there were three of them parked outside. When the counselor came out and called me in she had a very solemn look on her face.

“Nicole I need you to promise me you will be calm and open to anything that happens in the next hour.” She was acting very strange and I still had no idea what this was about. It had been almost a year since I had even spoken to Logan and the last thing he said to me was ‘see you in the clouds.’

“I don’t know if I am comfortable with this situation. What is going on?”

“Go in and sit down I will be there in a moment Nicole. Everything is alright, I promise.” She left me in her office and left the room. When she came back, she had the officers right behind her. I couldn’t get a close enough look at anyone of them but then all of the sudden one of them stepped to the right, and there he was. Logan was standing twenty feet from me, staring me right in the face.

Leave a Reply

