For now.

Suddenly my palms were sweaty and I could feel my face turning beat red. This couldn’t be happening and I wasn’t going to let it happen. I knew all the ins and outs of this office so I quickly gathered my things and headed for the back exit. Unfortunately he saw me and alerted the officer I was trying to leave. I thought I had made an escape but my counselor cut me off on my way out the door.

“Nicole, you have already been excused from class and these officers would really like to speak with you.” I really wanted to just scream in her face and run away but I felt like that might be a little rude after all she had helped me through.

“I guess I can’t say no to a police officer.”

I walked into the office and sat down. It took me a moment to compose myself but I had to prepare myself to see Logan.

“Nicole Cadwell, this is Logan Hathaway..” I didn’t even let him finish.

“I know who he is. How long will this take?” I could feel the anger building inside my body.

“I’m sorry if we have interrupted your day we would just like to have a little chat with you.” Luckily I was the best ‘secret texter’ known to man so I shot my mom a text to get me out of this meeting because I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle myself in this tiny office with Logan sitting right across from me. “Logan do you have something to say to Nicole?”

It had been less than thirty seconds since I had sent that text when the front desk clerk stepped in and said my mother had called me out for the day and I was no longer obligated to stay in the meeting. I stood up and Logan decided to speak. “Nicole, I am so sorry for everything that has happened. I never intended to hurt you or mess up our friendship. I never intended it to be a secret either I just miss you and I am so sorry.”

I was speechless for about ten second before I got the courage to spill the things this boy had made me feel for almost a year now. “Go to hell.” I grabbed my things and fled the room with a sigh of relief and satisfaction. No more was I going to have to pity myself or Logan because I was finally free of my own head. For now.

Leave a Reply

